{Textures, MTC and funky chickens…

So, have you played with the textures feature in MTC? If you haven’t, you really should give it a go. It’s lots of fun. You can buy some ready made tiles at Lettering Delights and they have some really neat ones… but you know me, I thought, “I could make these myself.” I have millions of patterns in Photoshop, so I opened that puppy up and got to work.

My document size in Photoshop is about 3.5 x 3.5 inches at 300 dpi.

I downloaded some free patterns off the web, specifically, http://www.brusheezy.com/Patterns. The deviant art website is another great place to get them. I loaded them into Photoshop and all I have to do to change my texture is change the pattern. I did find I need to scale it to make sure the pattern is seamless, meaning it will repeat and not look like a bunch of small squares stuck together.


If it’s not baroque, don’t fix it.

Sorry, bad humor on a Sunday.


Circles. A bunch of circles.

This one is a linen texture. You can scale it down and it will look like your paper is made out of linen. I really like to put textures like these on the backgrounds when I design wedding albums. I scale them down and lighten them so they are very subtle, but give the page a nice effect.


Tons of free patterns to choose from!! I’m a nerd, it doesn’t take much to make me happy.


Now isn’t he truly a funky chicken? I don’t really think I would print this like this, but if I wanted to, I could. I just selected each part (and a cool thing is you can shift-click to select more than one, like the chicken legs and the beak so you can make all the parts the same) and then right clicked the mouse (it’s actually a control click for me because I use a pen so I don’t have a mouse) and then select “change texture.” The cool thing is you can change the colors to get what you want, so it doesn’t matter what color you make your texture patterns. Neat, eh? My poor chicken is blind since he has no eyes. That’s what happens when you forget to trace them.

I know I’m totally late on this bandwagon, but now that I’m on it, I’m pretty stoked about it. As I make them, I’ll stick them in the box thingie on the right side of the screen called “flash_widget” (you may have to scroll down a bit) so you can use them too.

A bonus for me is for some reason, I have a hard time importing the textures with .png images during the pixel trace so now I can import them without the texture and then just put in my own. Then I won’t have problems with it bogging down the system anymore.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to {Textures, MTC and funky chickens…

  1. Nelda says:

    According to Andy, the textures should be about 256×256 pixels for MTC. The ones you have are 1067×1067. You need to reduce these furthers in order to avoid bogging down your system.

  2. Thanks for sharing, Deb! Love them and I’ll be using one when I make an MTC video on textures.

  3. teachdanz says:

    I found your blog in a convuluted sort of way – blog referral so to speak:-) I work with scal and was able to use the freebie tiles from LD but was wondering if you or anybody else knows better how to work with the seamless tiles in scal. I am stuck with scal until I get a new cutter. Got into the svg craze too late for MTC but in time for scal cuz I have a cricut. I love your blog and am now a follower:-)

    • Deb M. says:

      Hi and welcome! Unfortunately I don’t use SCAL much anymore. I am used to MTC so when I try to use SCAL these days I can’t do the things I can do in MTC. I’m not sure how to bring the tiles into SCAL. MTC will work with the cricut if you have the pccplugin.dll in your plug in folder in MTC. The owners of MTC can no longer give out that file, but a good google search will get it for you. 🙂

Leave a Reply

