{Poor Man (Chick) Twine… **update at bottom**

Remember this from yesterday??

I cut these spools out from the Lettering Delights Seamstress set out of chipboard. Look how clean those cuts are! Mr. Maxx rocked it. I think I used a force of about 95. I was using my brand new blue tipped blade I ordered from Accugraphics.

My chipboard came from the backing of a bunch of pads of California State Test materials. They stuck loads of chipboard in there and I swiped it. It’s probably about the thickness of a cereal box, but it worked perfectly for what I was doing.

I guess if you really want to get decorative, you could cut out some patterned paper to stick on top, but remember, I’m lazy.

So I picked up one of these things off Amazon. You can do the twisting by hand, but it’s so much easier to use this thing. Remember: I’m lazy. I figure I’ll use it for other things as well. Not sure what yet, but I’ll come up with something.

For a couple bucks at Joann’s, I picked up a big spool of this white crochet thread..

and for $2 at the swap meet, I got this whole pack of embroidery thread. I need to go back and get some more. I’m pretty sure I saw this same pack at Joann’s for $16.

And voila! My own twine!

I didn’t come up with this idea myself, Google is my friend, but I’ll tell you what I did (and what I learned if you want to try this yourself)

1. I only used about a yard of each color. I tied the ends together and stuck them under my big toe on the floor.

2. I stuck the other ends into the twisty thing and held it up until the string is taut and turned it on and watched it spin.

3. I twisted until it is super tight: much more than what I want. If you don’t keep the the string straight, it will start twisting on itself and makes a big knot (not that I would know anything about this. Okay, so maybe I do).

4. Then I took a plastic ruler and carefully wrapped the twisted twine around it, careful to not let it unravel (because it will try, little bugger).

5. I mixed a little bit of white glue with water and used a paint brush to paint it onto the string. This keeps it from unravelling.

6. When it dried, I took it off the plastic ruler (or whatever plastic thing you have in your house) and wrapped it around my little chipboard spools.

7. I cut a little slit on the bottom so I had a place to stick the end of the thread.

I put this one on the spool a little too early (it wasn’t quite dry) so when I unravelled it, it has the crease marks from being wrapped around the spool. I guess you can iron it, but I figure once I use it, it will straighten out.

I’m almost thinking that instead of wrapping it around a ruler, I should use a glass or something cylindrical so that the twine doesn’t dry with crease marks in it. I’ll give it a try and let you know how it works.

It isn’t as perfect as Twinery twine, but it was cheaper. And kind of fun to make…

I know the frugal crafter posted a tutorial making the twine with permanent markers and I have yet to try that one.

So I fooled around some more this morning because it bothered me that the twine wasn’t laying straight and was all creased. This time after I twisted, I wrapped the string around my trusty zoo bucket and taped the ends to it.

I tried to make sure the twine didn’t overlap, but it was okay if it was touching.

I wanted you to see my mixture of glue and water. It is super watery. It is more water than glue. In fact, I made this last night and as you can see, it didn’t dry out or anything.

Look how nicely the twine came off the bucket when it was dry. It wasn’t all crinkled and creased like the other one was.

Here’s a close up of how it looks. Remember it’s not soft like Twinery twine because of the glue. It is a bit stiff. But I like it better that way. It reminds me of when you use the jute or hemp stuff.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to {Poor Man (Chick) Twine… **update at bottom**

  1. Great idea!!! I love the little spools you cut out, too!

  2. Kwilt says:

    How ingenious! đŸ™‚

  3. Nelda says:

    Great idea! Can you give the link for the cord twister? The one I found was $38 (I could buy a lot of twine for that cost – not sure it would be cheaper for me). TIA!

  4. Thanks for the “how-to”!! May have to give this a go!!

  5. Ann in TN says:

    I would think you could use a drill for this. I would attach the twine and floss on opposite sides of the chuck with a piece of tape, anchor the other ends as above or with a clamp to a table and twist away. Also, wasn’t there a tool to style hair by twisting it a few years ago? Perhaps that would work. Also, you might want to try liquid starch to secure those strands together. It could prove to be less stiff.

Leave a Reply

