{The workhorse…

I fired up Mr. Maxx today and put him to work cutting out a bunch of pieces for some cards I want to make. I would post an actual picture of him (and not one d/l from the web) but it was just easier to use a picture that was already taken.

I was talking to my son’s classmate’s mom, who is a designer for Spellbinders. She gets EVERY die from them for free. Are you jealous? I am. She told me she owns quite a few machines and asked me what I had. I replied that I had the klic n’ kut Maxx, Silhouette, and Cricut. She told me she was interested in the KNK and felt it was a good, solid machine, but very underrated. It is, unfortunately. I don’t know if we owners know we have a good thing and keep quiet about it or what, but I don’t hear the wonderful things about this machine that I hear about all the other ones.

I hope that will change, because it is such a well-built machine. It has a decent software package with it, that has quite a learning curve, but once you learn it, you realize how powerful it really is.

I would never pressure anyone into buying the KNK. It is quite an investment, but for me, it has been well worth the money. I do love my little Silhouette, but I’ve noticed it just isn’t built as sturdy and strong as the KNK. The Silhouette has a lot of plastic where the KNK is mostly metal. The Silhouette has the huge advantage of the optical eye. They really should expand that technology and build a larger machine with more force and I think it would really put them more in the competition.

It is interesting where the market will go these days because a lot of people are fed up with Provocraft and their antics. It’s really too bad because I do enjoy my cricut as well.

I own three machines, but they all do different things for me. I guess when people are researching the machine they want, they have to decide what they want to use it for and which features are important and which ones they can let go.

Another thing people need to think about when selecting a machine is making sure they buy from a reputable company that has been around for a long time, as well as having a local repair facility to send the machine to should it break. People who deal and sell the machines don’t necessarily fix them, so I hope people think about the future, especially if they pay more than $500 for a piece of equipment.

When I had the original KNK XL, I had to send it back to Florida because it had a bad skewing problem. Sometimes a board or chip inside the machine might be bad, but I was able to send it and get a new one, which worked perfectly. I ended up selling it when Maxx came out and I’m glad I did.

Anyway, the best advice I can offer is to research, research, research. My dream is for the KNK to run under the Mac environment. I also understand that Andy (the owner of MTC) is writing a driver for KNK so it no longer has to ‘ride the coat tails of another machine.’ I’m very excited for that to happen. Craft Edge, the owner of SCAL, is working to get more machines running under the MAC environment.

It is wonderful to have options out there. I’m glad I’ve chosen the machines that work the best for me.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

